2020 Major Book Awards Calendar

Here’s a first look at dates for some of the MAJOR Book Awards Calendar for 2020. Fiction awards winners will be published as they are announced. We’re also now hosting a Book Awards Reading Challenge for 2020 – so check it out and join in as we choose a book from the award winners to read each month.

2020 book awards calendar


Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK’s most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognizes books written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. The prize has five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction recognize the best Fiction and Non-Fiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The awards are given by the American Library Association, and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers.


PEN America Literary Awards

The PEN America Literary Awards have honored outstanding voices in translation, fiction, poetry, science writing, essay, sports writing, biography, children’s literature, and drama. PEN America confers over 20 distinct awards, fellowships, grants and prizes each year.

Audie Awards

The Audie Awards, sponsored by the Audio Publishers Association (APA), recognizes distinction in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment in 29 categories.

National Book Critics Circle Awards

The National Book Critics Circle Awards honor the best literature published in the United States in six categories – autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. Also added in recent years is the John Leonard Award, a new prize honoring an author’s first book. These are the only national literary awards chosen by critics themselves.


The Edgar Awards

The Edgar Awards are presented by the Mystery Writers of America honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television.

Stoker Award

The Stoker Award is a recognition presented annually by the Horror Writers Association for “superior achievement” in dark fantasy and horror writing.


Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.

Best Translated Book Awards

The Best Translated Book Awards honor the best original works of international fiction and poetry published in the U.S. during the previous year.

Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. They are given each year for various categories including best novel, novella, novelette, short story along with the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.


Locus Award

The Locus Award Winners. Recognizes excellence in science fiction and fantasy literature.

British Book Awards

The British Book Awards or Nibbies are literary awards for the best UK writers and their works.


The Shirley Jackson Awards

The Shirley Jackson Awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


The Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards are for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy.


Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is a UK-based award honoring the best novel of the year written in English by a female author.


World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards are a set of awards given each year for the best fantasy fiction published during the previous calendar year.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is a literary award given to a Canadian author of a novel or short story collection published in English the previous year. The Winner of the award presented in 2019 was Reproduction, Ian Williams.

National Book Award

The National Book Awards celebrates the best in American literature. The Awards currently honors the best Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature published each year. Winners of the awards presented in 2019 include Trust Exercise, Susan Choi for Best Fiction.

Booker Prize

The Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK or Ireland.

Here’s a link to the last year’s Major Book Awards Calendar for 2019 and the Fiction Award Winners.


// Comments //

// Trackbacks & Pingbacks //

  1. […] We can’t skip the literary achievements of the year — we are reading fans after all! It would be impossible to overview all national and international awards in literature given in 2020, but here are the most influential prizes. Here you can find a handy calendar marking almost all major book awards. […]