Written by 5:53 am Bookish

#ReadThis … 3 Books Like Dr. Sleep With Talent Stealing Bitches

Reading List

I’ve read some awesome books with super-evil-baddies, and the list below represent 3 of my fave reads – books where the bad guys wanted other people’s “shine” – they wanted it real bad … and it made for some good reading!

Doctor Sleep (The Shining #2), Stephen King

Doctor Sleep Book by Stephen King

On highways across America, a tribe of people called The True Knot travel in search of sustenance. They look harmless—mostly old, lots of polyester, and married to their RVs. But as Dan Torrance knows, and spunky twelve-year-old Abra Stone learns, The True Knot are quasi-immortal, living off the “steam” that children with the “shining” produce when they are slowly tortured to death.

Stephen King has a way with characters, and he did justice to The Shining with this sequel. Doctor Sleep (The Shining is another book you should read if you haven’t yet). Seeing Dan all grown up and reading the story after he managed to escape “the house” was satisfying. And he was so endearing. The “True Knot” … ooh, they were … just bananas! But I’m glad to see they sort of brought Dan back to life. This book has some twists to it, and it’s definitely good readin’.

The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes

The Shining Girls Book by Lauren Beukes

In Depression-era Chicago, Harper Curtis finds a key to a house that opens on to other times. But it comes at a cost. He has to kill the shining girls: bright young women, burning with potential. He stalks them through their lives across different eras until, in 1989, one of his victims, Kirby Mazrachi, survives and starts hunting him back.

Harper is a truly evil villain. He sees girls that have something special about them – he calls it “The Shining” – and he kills them when they’ve grown up. But this story is not as straightforward as it seems, and there are a lot of twists and a lot of sides to the story. It’s a detailed web of a story, a very gruesome at times, but well worth the read.

NOS4A2, Joe Hill

NOS4A2 Book

Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to unanswerable questions. Charles Talent Manx has a way with children. He likes to take them for rides in his 1938 Rolls-Royce Wraith with the NOS4A2 vanity plate. With his old car, he can slip right out of the everyday world, and onto the hidden roads that transport them to an astonishing – and terrifying – playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland.” One day, they meet and nothing is ever the same again, for both of them.

Charlie Manx is quite the character, and he tried to make everything I love about Christmas into something sick and twisted ** ughh ** But was it Charlie, or the damn car that was responsible? So much happens in this book, and I loved reading every word of it.


I loved none of these villains, and was happy to see them defeated in the end. Who are some of the bookish villains you’ve absolutely hated and felt no pity for?

(republished and updated from Feb. 4, 2014)

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)
Tanya Patrice
Tanya is an avid reader - teenage boy wrangler - husband tamer - knowledge seeker.
Tanya Patrice on InstagramTanya Patrice on PinterestTanya Patrice on RssTanya Patrice on Twitter
Tags: , , , , , Last modified: November 18, 2019
Close